Asian American History

Possible Case Studies

This list is extensive and yet still certainly incomplete. Feel free to reach out to your teacher if you’d like to look into something not listed, or if you need support with additional/different sources than offered below. There are some broader collections listed at the top of the chart, and then individual incidents listed with a variety of types of supplementary sources listed in chronological order below. Good luck! Happy hunting!

Potentially Relevant to multiple incidents listed below

• Calisphere, Search: “Gold Rush Era-1890;” “Early 20th Century;” “Chinese Exclusion Act” 1860s-1919 
• United States and its Territories Digital Collection, UMich “1870-1925 Age of Imperialism”
• Bancroft Library UCB, “US colonialism as examined by Filipinx and Asian American scholars”
• “Early Immigration” South Asian American Digital Archive
• Berkeley Library Exhibit“Echoes of Freedom: South Asian Pioneers in California, 1899-1965” 
• Densho Digital Repository  “1900;” “Issei;” “Industry & Employment-Agriculture”
• JANM Archive Collections, “-1924”
• Editorials & Articles from Harpers’ Weekly  
• Him Mark Lai Digital Archive, “Anti-Chinese Agitation” “Farmers” “Labor” 
• UC Hastings Law School Special Collection, Anti-Chinese Laws 
• Bancroft Library UCB, Chinese in California Virtual Collection

NOTE OF CAUTION: Be careful about dates with these archives. Your case studies *MUST* be prior to 1924.

If you need more secondary/background context, ask your teacher for access to either of these Asian American history survey texts:

• Huping Ling, Asian American History, (2023)
• ​​​​​​​Shelly Sang-Hee Lee, A New History of Asian America, (2014)