Primary Sources
- American Archive of Public BroadcastingDiscover historic programs of publicly funded radio and television across America. Watch and listen.
- Digital Feminist ArchivesOffers a snapshot of feminist history in the 1960s and 1970s, the institutionalization of women’s centers and women’s studies.
- Discovering American Women's History OnlineAccess to digital collections of primary sources that document the history of women in the United States. [17th century - present]
- Documents from the Women's Liberation MovementA collection of various aspects of the Women's Liberation Movement in the United States. [1969 - 1974]
- Schlesinger LibraryHarvard's Library on the History of Women in America documents the lives of women of the past and present.
- Sophia Smith CollectionWomen's History Archives at Smith College
- Urban Primary SourcesLinks to various primary source databases available from Urban Herbst Library.
- Women's History Research ArchivesArchives listed by region in the U.S. and international list of archives.
Databases
- Proquest This link opens in a new windowRecent articles from scholarly sources, magazines, newspapers, and more.
- U.S. History in Context This link opens in a new windowReference articles, primary sources and articles.
- Alexander Street Academic Video Online This link opens in a new windowSearch over 70,000 videos on many subjects.
- KanopyFilms from the SFPL video database, requires SFPL library card
Websites
- Feminist.com
- International Organizations: Women and Gender(compiled by UC Berkeley International Documents Librarian)
- Women's Studies Librarian's Office University of Wisconsin
- Women Watch: UN Information and Resources on Gender Equality and Empowerment of Women
- Women's Studies Database (University of Maryland)
- Women's Studies Online Resources
- Women's and Gender Studies Section (Association of College and Research Libraries/American Library Association)
- The School for Black Feminist PoliticsA Black feminist political education initiative.
Chronologies
American DecadesCall Number: 973.9/AMEThis series offers broad chronologies so you can get some context about what was happening socially, culturally, or politically during a specific decade.
Books
AI
Generative AI is not considered a source for this project, but it can be used as a tool, especially to fine tune a topic or find experts in a field. Perplexity is a good choice to use since they cite their sources. If you are unsure whether or not to use AI, check in with your teacher or the library staff.