‚Äč Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

Welcome to Urban's Library Resources

Here you will find research sources and books, articles, podcasts and more to learn about our dynamic world.

Research Resources A-Z

Alexander Street Academic Video Online
Watch over 70,000 documentaries and films from BBC, PBS, CNN, and more!

Annals of American History  
Includes speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, editorials, and more that bring history to life. 

ARTstor
Find high-resolution images of paintings, prints, sculpture, photography, textiles, and more.

Biography in Context
Find biographical information on many national and international figures.

Black Freedom Struggle
Find historical newspaper articles, pamphlets, diaries, correspondence and more from specific periods in U.S. history marked by the opposition African Americans have faced on the road to freedom.

Britannica Online
Comprehensive online encyclopedia.

Gale Expanded Academic ASAP
Search nearly 16 million articles.

Global Issues in Context
Search hundreds of International newspapers and academic journals.  Includes podcasts and videos.

GVRL
Search and access many great reference books.

Health and Wellness 
This database searches for books and articles relating to health. 

Informe
Search for news and magazines in Spanish and English.

JSTOR
Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Historical Newspapers
Historical newspapers are now in Proquest. Search the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Defender, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and more by customizing your date range or selecting historical newspapers from source type in the advanced search.

Literature Resources from Gale
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. 

Opposing Viewpoints
This database has it all; opinion articles, topic overviews, articles and more.

Oxford Art Online
This database is full of images and information such as biographies, definitions, and encyclopedia entries.

Oxford English Dictionary
Not all dictionaries are created equal.  The famed OED is truly a great dictionary.

Oxford Music Online
This database provides access to encyclopedia entries and biographies as well as definitions of terms pertaining to music.

Oxford Reference Online
An amazing compendium of Oxford reference titles.

Proquest
Search many full-text journals, magazines and newspaper articles in one place!

San Francisco Chronicle
Username: BYI
Password: UrbanBlues

World History in Context and US History In Context
These databases have primary sources, chronologies, biographies, books, and articles.  One-stop shopping for historical research!