Skip to main content

Welcome to Urban's Herbst Library: Home

Here you will find great sources for all of your research needs!

Before you begin...

A few words about the library's resources and Virtual Urban

Below you will find links to the library's databases and specific class guides. Use the tabs above to find specific types of sources. During Virtual Urban you can use all of our databases from home. Simply log in with your Urban username and your email password. Be sure to check out ebooks and audiobooks from Overdrive (aka Libby aka Sora). 

Got a public library card?

We highly recommend you get a public library card during this time. San Francisco residents may apply for a Temporary Digital Access Card using the online application form. You will be contacted by email within 48 hours with the status of your application. If you don't live in SF, your local library may be doing a similar online application.

Email the library if you need help finding what you're looking for!

Databases A-Z

Annals of American History  
Includes speeches, essays, biographies, landmark court decisions, editorials, and more that bring history to life. 

ARTstor
Find high-resolution images of paintings, prints, sculpture, photography, textiles, and more.

Biography in Context
Find biographical information on many national and international figures.

Britannica Online
Comprehensive online encyclopedia.

eLibrary
Search 2,500 full-text magazines, newspapers, books and transcripts--plus thousands of maps, pictures, websites, and multimedia (audio/video) files.

Gale Expanded Academic ASAP
Search nearly 16 million articles.

Global Issues in Context
Search hundreds of International newspapers and academic journals.  Includes podcasts and videos.

GVRL
Search and access many great reference books.

Health and Wellness 
This database searches for books and articles relating to health. 

Informe
Search for news and magazines in Spanish and English.

JSTOR
Includes archives of over one thousand leading academic journals across the humanities, social sciences, and sciences.

Historical Newspapers
Historical newspapers are now in Proquest. Search the New York Times, Christian Science Monitor, Chicago Defender, Wall Street Journal, Washington Post, and more by customizing your date range or selecting historical newspapers from source type in the advanced search.

Literature Resources from Gale
Research authors and their works, literary movements and genres. 

Opposing Viewpoints
This database has it all; opinion articles, topic overviews, articles and more.

Oxford Art Online
This database is full of images and information such as biographies, definitions, and encyclopedia entries.

Oxford English Dictionary
Not all dictionaries are created equal.  The famed OED is truly a great dictionary.

Oxford Music Online
This database provides access to encyclopedia entries and biographies as well as definitions of terms pertaining to music.

Oxford Reference Online
An amazing compendium of Oxford reference titles.

Proquest
Search many full-text journals, magazines and newspaper articles in one place!

World History in Context and US History In Context
These databases have primary sources, chronologies, biographies, books, and articles.  One-stop shopping for historical research!

History Class Guides

English Class Guides

Health & Service Learning Class Guides

Science Class Guides

Arts Class Guides

World Language Guides

Math class guides

Books

Search for library books


Go to the Herbst Library catalog

Need help? Send us a note!

Sarah Levin, Library Director
email Sarah

Hilda Mendez, Library Specialist
email Hilda

Summer Reading

Video Use at Urban